## **NEW RELEASE**

For Immediate Release

Media Contact:

Tonja Ray-Smith, TMP, FEP

VP of Marketing & Communications Email: <a href="mailto:tonja@southeasttourism.org">tonja@southeasttourism.org</a>

Phone: (404) 809-6710

## Southeast Tourism Society Announces Newly Appointed Executive Committee and Board of Directors

**Roswell, GA (October 5, 2023)** - During the Annual Meeting of the Membership in Jackson, Mississippi, Southeast Tourism Society approved its slate of members to the Executive Committee for a one-year term and the Board of Directors for a two-year term.

Karen Trevino, TMP, North Little Rock Tourism and Robyn Bridges, Auburn-Opelika Tourism are the association's Chair and Vice Chair, respectively. Other members of the Executive Committee are Debbie Meihls, New Smyrna Beach CVB, Treasurer; Ben Berthelot, Lafayette Convention and Visitors Commission, Secretary; Shannon Gray, TMP, Gray Research Solutions, Marketing College® Provost; and Jill Kidder, Visit Baton Rouge, Immediate Past Chair.

"I'm looking forward to a great year of working and learning for an even greater future," said Karen Trevino, President & CEO of North Little Rock Tourism. "The STS staff and representatives from the STS member states are passionate and amazingly creative people."

New additions to the Board are Destiny Oliver, TMP, Miles Partnership; Ian Centrone, Martin County Office of Tourism & Marketing; Lisa Anders, Explore Gwinnett Tourism + Film; Brooke Jung, TMP, Visit Hopkinsville; Cody Gray, TMP, Louisiana's Cajun Bayou Tourism; Neal McCoy, City of Tupelo; Thomas Salley, Wilkesboro TDA; and Kimberly Davis, TMP, Friends of Southwest Virginia. Elected as Members at Large are Billy Dunlap, OneSpartanburg, Inc., and Marlo Dorsey; Visit Hattiesburg; Chrissy Richards, TMP, Lewis County CVB.

Serving a second term are Kalene Griffith, Visit Bentonville; Kelly McWhorter, TMP, Discover Greenwood (SC); and Mary Blair, TMP, Designsensory.

Reappointed to fill an unexpired term is Susan West, TMP, Arkansas Tech University.

"The STS Board of Directors are leaders within the travel and tourism industry, who we look to as the visionaries for our organization," said Monica Smith, President and CEO, of Southeast Tourism Society. "The Board's leadership provides valuable insight as STS continues to advocate for and support the tourism industry, particularly in regards to promoting travel to our 13 member states and Washington D.C."

"Each board member brings a unique skillset or expertise that will help us to continue enhancing professional development within our industry, and responsibly promote travel to our region", added Smith.

## **About Southeast Tourism Society**

The Southeast Tourism Society (STS) is a not-for-profit membership association dedicated to the development of travel and tourism professionals and organizations within the southeast region. The association's mission is to empower a diverse network of tourism professionals through Education, Advocacy, Recognition, and Networking. Member states include Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia, plus the District of Columbia.

###